‘NAPO’ Faces Vetting Committee Today


The Minister of Energy nominee, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh is set to face the Vetting Committee of Parliament later today, February 12, 2021.

The former Education Minister, was initially booked to appear before the Vetting Committee on Monday, February 15, but later deferred to today.

It is unclear, what compelled the reason for this last minute arrangements, but his appearance at the vetting is expected to witness some interesting developments.

Even though the nominee, affectionately called ‘Napo’ is predicted to dazzle at the vetting, intelligence picked up suggests, he would be given a hard-hitting time when he appears.

The Inquisitor is reliably informed that some persons, especially members of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) on the Committee, seem to have an axe to grind with the nominee over certain statements made when he was the Minister of Education.

Specifically, the NDC MPs have issues on how the then Education Minister accused certain people of transporting parents to Independence Square to demonstrate against the Computerized School Placement System in 2020.

Dr. Prempeh at the time, claimed that he made the statement based on intelligence his ministry had picked within the NDC.

As the education minister, he often had intelligence on how saboteurs wanted to deal with the ministry that was in charge of implementing the flagship programme of the Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo administration, Free Senior High School (Free SHS).

There were several attempts to make the programme unpopular by people who were opposed it and Dr. Prempeh, who was the minister under whose watch the programme was rolled out, would always move to scuttle the agenda aiming at making the programme looks bad.

Dr. Prempeh, popularly called ‘Napo’ was so passionate about the Free SHS that he could not fathom out why the laudable programme that has seen students who otherwise would not have had secondary education, going to school.

Meanwhile, other persons scheduled for vetting today include; the Parliamentary Affairs Minister-nominee, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Minister of Justice-nominee, Godfred Dame and the Interior Minister-nominee, Ambrose Dery.